Upgrading to Debian Unstable, gdm issue.

Leave a comment

October 20, 2013 by ricardovs

I’ve been playing around with Debian Testing for a few days, and out of curiosity I felt like jumping into the Unstable land.

That was cool, performed a couple changes to my sources.list and then the usual apt-get dist-upgrade. Everything went as expected, until I read a message about gdm3 and gnome-shell not being configured (in brief, of course). Upon system reboot, the Xserver would not start, would not let me log in if as some problems appeared for the gdm3. I could of course choose a different runlevel and startx manually, but I found a better solution in the Debian User Forums:

[SOLVED] Xserver fails after upgrade – Debian Sid Gnome

Ref: Debian Bug report logs – #724731. [gdm3] gdm does not start properly, cannot login via gdm

The mentioned fix is to install the package libpam-systemd. It worked for me so I am happy with the functional Debian Unstable system.

Leave a Reply

