Awesome openSUSE 11.2 DVDs for promotion

Leave a comment

December 23, 2009 by ricardovs

Days ago I requested material for openSUSE 11.2 so I can promote it around here in Chile.

To my surprise, this time they’ve got double sided DVDs, 32-bit on one side and 64-bit on the other, feature that is absolutely great for any purpose (promotion, testing, installation, etc.). At first glance, the only missing part is artwork (discs are all silver, not a green on them), but honestly, I prefer features over design this time =), and I am not sure you can print anything on a double-sided disc.

Talking about the DVDs case, I’d made a couple changes if I could. First, the desktop screenshot on its back is too small if you wanted to check out details, yet not small enough to tell it’s the KDE Desktop (our default one this time). Second, and on the back side as well, the text area seems to have exagerated marigins to its top and left sides, and I’d use larger font size for certain text’s lines.

Besides those two details, I like the overall design much. As stated previously, having a 32/64 bit disc which can be run live or just installed right away is nothing but awesome.

Again, I would like to thank Zonker and everyone who has helped make this material truly world-class.

Have a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

