SSH access with Eclipse’s Remote System Explorer plugin.

Leave a comment

November 15, 2009 by ricardovs

Now I need to set up a developing environment for web-based projects on my notebook, which runs openSUSE 11.2.

First I check if I have the right ssh package installed, which is positive. Then I run Eclipse with my favorite Remote System Explorer plugin, and add the connection I need. That is just as simple as entering the connection name, your server machine, and username. Alright, that is the easy part of it.

Then I find myself trying to connect into my default test directory, getting the following error messsage:

Failed to connect sshd on “LOCALHOST:xx”.

Detail: java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused.

Ok then, I check and start the SSH daemon, and keep getting the same output.

Looking for answers at openSUSE’s Forums, I found much guidance and one which helped me solve the small problem. You need to allow the Secure Shell Server Service for the External Zone!. Select it from the “Service to Allow” combo, then restart your ssh daemon and there you go ;).

Firewall Conf:Allowed Services-YaST

Leave a Reply

