Eclipse 3.4 on openSUSE 11.2 Milestone 3 launch problem.

1

July 5, 2009 by ricardovs

Let me start by saying that Eclipse 3.5 launches without a problem under the recently released openSUSE 11.2 M3. Then, why using an older version? The only current answer is that there is no Google Web Toolkit plug-in for Eclipse 3.5, so I am kind of forced  to use the 3.4 release.

I downloaded the Eclipse 3.4 from eclipse.org. Then, as I tried to launch it, I got to define the location for workspace and then a small and empty window. I thought it could be some missing gtk library or any problem with xulrunner. Checked both and made sure to be using the right versions. And then, after a few lines of chat at the Suse Freenode channel, I found out how to solve the problem. Adding the following line at the very end of the eclipse.ini file does it:

-Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath=/usr/lib/xulrunner-1.9.1/xulrunner

Thanks people at Suse’s Freenode Channel.

One thought on “Eclipse 3.4 on openSUSE 11.2 Milestone 3 launch problem.

  1. cedric says:

    Thanks a lot for this post. You saved me a rollback to openSuse !

Leave a Reply

