My time with openSUSE

Leave a comment

February 17, 2009 by ricardovs

I have been less than a year using the openSUSE distro and I can say it is more than I expected. Coming from a deb-based system,  I got used to the rpm, and I feel fine with it, besides packages I use the most are rock solid, pretty much like the whole distro.

Well, when I started looking at the openSUSE distro, and what I could do for it, I just didn’t know where to start. The official website is a cool start point. There you can find all kind of guidelines. Then my best two bets were Translation and Marketing. I’ve been actively contributing with translations and I must say it’s been a great experience, everyone out there has been cool and helpful.

Also I must mention Joe Brockmeier, openSUSE’s Community Manager, and Martin Lasarsch of Core Services. They have been very responsive always.

I am more than ready to keep on colaborating with openSUSE. I am sure it is the best distro for me.

Leave a Reply

